It has been a long while since I have sat down and wrote a
blog post, personally life has been crazy. Started a new job, got laid off from
said job, looking for new job, started a Master’s degree program in History
(lots of reading) and still try to play or study chess a few hours each week.
All of that aside, I think I have been making pretty good
progress in my skill level and my rating level on all of the sites I play. I
have been trying out all of the different chess sites. Chess.com, ICC, FICS,
Chess24, Playchess.com trying to find one that I liked for the right price.
Chess.com really good site, can play some USCF rated games
which is nice, I don’t really care for the blitz community within chess.com.
Not really sure why, I just get a bad vibe from the players in my skill level.
The articles and the forums though are tough to beat. For the money Chess.com
tops the list for turn based games.
The site that I love is chess24, their pairing system is
great, commentary is top notch, I love the tactics trainer which I have been
doing about 100 puzzles as day (they could use more puzzles as they I am
getting a lot of repeats) and what more can you say about Banter Blitz, Jan
Gustafsson and Peter Svidler talking trash and explaining their moves and ideas
as they go. I love having it in the background when I am avoiding doing
homework. If you don’t already have an account please use the below link and
create an account and tryout some of their features:
Those are the two sites that I have decided to keep paying
to play on, Good values for the money 20 bucks a month between the two sites
and all the chess I can handle. If anyone has tried other sites and like them
please drop me a line.
My only questions about online chess is, Why do so many
people have to be assholes when they lose? We all lose games, we have all lost
when we had a winning position, especially in blitz. But why are you going to
blast the guy on the other end of the internet because you had a mouse slip, or
hit the wrong button, or more times than not just flat out made a bad move or
missed a tactic? I know the internet creates the anonymity and all of that but
man is it annoying.
No games today just my ramblings, next post will have my
comments from the Grand Chess Tour and maybe a game of mine J

No comments:
Post a Comment