Today was my first game of the TeamLeague T59, after much
moving of the game time around we finally got to the game. The game was played
in the middle of the afternoon my time so I was well rested and was working on
the possible openings. I wanted to continue to work on the Ruy Lopez, for the
last 2 years I have played the Caro-Kann almost exclusively on FICS so I figured
my opponent would be prepared for that so I decided to play the black Ruy Lopez. I had done some research on my opponent trying
to gain some insight on where I could direct some games maybe gain a slight
edge. My opponent has played well over 2K standard games on FICS so there was a
lot of games in which to choose a plan. As it turns out my opponent was not very good when
playing the Pirc defense something like 20% as white. Unfortunately I was not
able to learn the basics of the Pirc Defense in that short amount of time and didn’t
want to fall for a trick. I thought that I would have been better prepared if I
would have stuck with the Ruy Lopez and so I did.
The game starts out just like it should. 1 e4 e5 2. Nf3 Nc6
3. Bb5 a6 4. Ba4 Nf6 5. 0-0 Nxe4 6. c3 I was expecting 6. Re1 or d4 and made a
series of blunders that allowed white to exploit the pinned Knight and win a
free Bishop. Later in the game trying to play a solid defense I went down by
two pieces, and resigned on move 20.
| Dreadtower - Caseylj |
| 1-0, 2015.04.05. |
I still enjoyed the game and feel I have a much better understanding of the Ruy Lopez and where I made my mistakes. Learning can be painful at times. Trying to change up my openings and expand my chess knowledge I have lost 100 rating points on FICS and about 50 in my OTB ratings in the last few weeks. Hopefully this will be a good investment and I will gain those points back with some interest.

No comments:
Post a Comment