Saturday, January 17, 2015

Chess in 2015



Happy New Year to anyone who reads this blog J. The last few months have been fun had a great holiday season with my family, was able to take two paid weeks off for the holidays life was moving along at a great pace. But with every positive it seems there must always be a negative. The beginning of 2015 is no exception, I had to leave my current job, the atmosphere at the job was not great and the job had absolutely nothing to do with my career goals or aspirations, but let’s face it the job didn’t pay enough to put up with poor leadership.

 With it being a New Year I have several chess goals these are in no particular order: 
   1. I plan on learning the Slave defense, I have started my journey with The Slave: Move by Move by Cyrus Lakdawala.
   2. I must improve my endgame, I generally seem to be getting equal positions out of the opening and lose the game in the end game (I lost a game where I was two pawns up last night in casual play at the local chess club).
   3. I want to get my USCF Rating above 1200, I may need to play in bigger tournaments to meet this goal. The local players that play in tournaments here are generally 1500 to Master level players. I learn a lot when they beat me, but I am not to that level yet.

I have been playing a lot on chess.com, mainly because I get to play my dad, but I really like the variety of live chess and slow play chess on this site. Being able to make a move or two a day is nice, it allows me to plan better, at least in theory, and/or I can play faster if I wish. 

This a game I finished yesterday, I had the black and my opponent steered the game into an Anti-Caro-Kann, and below is my annotations then the annotations of the chess engine, which has been upgraded to Stockfish 5.

A B C D E F G H
8 8
7 7
6 6
5 5
4 4
3 3
2 2
1 1
A B C D E F G H

Cxxxxxxxxxxxxxler - KCChessc6
0-1, 2015.01.13.
[#] 1.e4 +0.11 c6 +0.29 2.c4I am not a big fan of this move, I have had it appear in a few causal games with players a few hundred points higher than me and have never won. My plan was to trade off all the center pawns then offer a Queen sac and work with a better pawn structure than my opponet. +0.15 d5 3.exd5 cxd5 4.cxd5 Qxd5N +0.64

[4...Nf6 5.Nc3 Nxd5 6.Nf3 Nxc3 7.bxc3 g6 8.d4 Bg7 9.Bd3 ...0-1, Glek Igor V 2566 - Grischuk Alexander 2720 , Mainz 8/14/2005 It (open) (active) "Ordix"]
5.Nc3 Qe5 6.Qe2 +0.18
[6.Be2 e6 7.Nf3 Qa5 8.d4 Nf6 9.O-O Be7 10.Bf4 O-O 11.a3 Qd8 +0.63;
6.Be2 Nc6 7.Nf3 Qb8 8.O-O e6 9.d4 Bd6 10.g3 Nge7 11.Be3 O-O +0.53]
6...Nc6 +0.60
[6...Qxe2 +0.20]
7.Qxe5 Nxe5 Here I thought he would play Nf3 i would then take forcing him to take and weaken his king side pawn structure, which is what happened. 8.Nf3?!?! -0.22
[8.Nd5!? Rb8 9.d4 Ng6 10.h4 e6 11.Nc7 Kd8 12.Nb5 h5 13.Bd3 Bb4 +0.60]
8...Nxf3 9.gxf3 e5 Now it is time to try to take control of the center ?!?! +0.41
[9...Nf6!? 10.Bb5 Bd7 11.Bxd7 Kxd7 12.d3 e6 13.Be3 Bd6 14.Kd2 Rhc8 15.h4 -0.22]
10.d3?!?! -0.07
[10.d4!? Bd6 11.Bb5 Kf8 12.Be3 Nf6 13.dxe5 Bxe5 14.O-O Be6 15.Rfe1 Bxc3 +0.39]
10...Bc5 I wasn't sure what the best move here was, Bc5 with the idea to just trade off the dark squared bishops then to place my pawns on dark squares. But I also dint want to let him be able to unstack his f pawns so i eventually retreated and took his knight with the bishop but giving him a pawn on c3. 11.Be3 Bb4?!?! +0.60
[11...Bxe3!? 12.fxe3 Ne7 13.Rd1 Be6 14.d4 exd4 15.Bb5 Kf8 16.Rxd4 a6 17.Bd7 +0.00]
12.O-O-O?!?! +0.07
[12.d4!? exd4 13.Bxd4 Ne7 14.Bxg7 Rg8 15.Be5 Bf5 16.O-O-O Kf8 17.Ne4 Rg6 +0.61]
12...Bf5?!?! +0.56
[12...Ne7!? 13.d4 exd4 14.Bb5 Nc6 15.Bxd4 O-O 16.Bxc6 bxc6 17.Rhg1 g6 18.Ne4 +0.07]
13.a3?!?! +0.15
[13.d4!? a6 14.dxe5 +0.56]
13...Bxc3 14.bxc3 Rc8 To win this game i knew I would have to own the c or d file, with him 0-0-0 i choose the c file as it is the file the king is on, at this point. I wasn't worried about the pawn on a7if he takes i take c3 with check. +0.26 15.Kb2 +0.15 a6?!?! +0.68
[15...Nf6!? 16.c4 O-O 17.f4 Rfd8 18.fxe5 Ng4 19.Be2 Nxe5 20.Kc3 b6 21.Rhg1 +0.15]
16.f4 Bg4?!?! +1.45
[16...exf4!? +0.48]
17.Rd2?!?! +0.80
[17.Re1!? exf4 18.Bxf4 Kd7 19.Rg1 Nf6 20.Re5 h6 21.h3 g5 22.hxg4 gxf4 +1.43]
17...Bf3?!?! +1.36
[17...exf4!? 18.Bxf4 Ne7 19.Rg1 h5 20.h3 Ng6 21.Bh2 Bf3 22.Rg3 Bc6 23.d4 +0.80]
18.Rg1 g6?! +1.91
[18...exf4!? 19.Bxf4 g6 20.Rg3 Bc6 21.Bh3 Bd7 22.Re3 Kd8 23.Bg2 Bc6 24.f3 +1.39]
19.Bg2I didn't want to trade here but i would have lost b7 with no compensation. I traded and i felt that i was in a better position for it. ???? +0.04
[19.fxe5! Ne7 20.c4 Nf5 21.Bg5 Nd4 22.Bh3 Rc7 23.Be3 Nf5 24.Bxf5 gxf5 +1.89]
19...Bxg2 20.Rxg2 f6?!? +0.93
[20...exf4!? 21.Bxf4 f6 22.Rg4 Ne7 23.Bg3 Kf7 24.Rd4 Rhd8 25.Rxd8 Rxd8 26.c4 +0.03;
20...exf4! 21.Bxf4 f6 22.a4 Ne7 23.Rd1 O-O 24.Rgg1 Nf5 25.Be3 Rfd8 26.Rg4 -0.20]
21.fxe5 fxe5 22.d4 +0.68
[22.Rg5 Kf7 23.Rxe5 Ne7 24.c4 +0.94;
22.Rg5 Ne7 23.Rxe5 Kf7 24.Bc5 Nc6 25.Re4 Rhe8 26.Rde2 Rxe4 27.Rxe4 Re8 +0.83]
22...e4I must keep this pawn, he is the one that I must promote to win. +0.89
[22...Nf6 +0.55]
23.Rg3?! +0.29
[23.a4 Nf6 24.Kb3 O-O 25.c4 Rf7 26.Rg5 +0.68;
23.a4!? Kf7 24.Kb3 Ne7 25.Rg4 Rhe8 26.d5 Nf5 27.c4 h5 28.Rf4 Rcd8 +0.87]
23...Nf6 24.f3?! -0.33
[24.a4!? Nd5 25.Rg5 Nb6 26.Kb3 Nc4 27.Rd1 Kd7 28.Rg4 Na5 29.Kc2 +0.29]
24...O-O If he takes on e4 i go up an exchange with Nxe4 forking the two rooks. 25.f4??! -1.27
[25.Bh6! Rfe8 26.Re2 exf3 -0.34;
25.Rh3!? -0.15]
25...Nd5 26.c4?!? -2.13
[26.Rc2!? b5 27.Bc1 Rce8 28.Be3 Kf7 29.c4 bxc4 30.Rxc4 Rc8 31.Rc5 Ke6 -1.26;
26.Rc2! b5 27.Bc1 Rce8 28.Be3 Nxf4 29.Bxf4 Rxf4 30.Kb3 Kf7 31.a4 Ke6 -0.81]
26...Nxe3I took here because I thought that i could win one pawn and maybe two. This was the turning point in the game here I saw the possibility to go two pawns up and that I would queen.?? -0.18
[26...Rxc4! 27.Rc2 Rxc2 28.Kxc2 Kf7 29.Bd2 Rc8 30.Kd1 Rc4 31.Ke2 Rxd4 32.Rh3 -2.21;
26...Rxc4! 27.Rc2 Rxc2 28.Kxc2 Kf7 29.Bd2 Rc8 30.Kd1 Rc4 31.Ke2 Rxd4 32.Rh3 -2.21]
27.Rxe3 Rxf4 +0.00
[27...Rxc4 28.Rxe4 b5 29.Kb3 a5 30.Kb2 Rd8 31.f5 gxf5 32.Re5 f4 33.Rg5 -0.18;
27...Rxc4 28.Rxe4 b5 29.Kb3 a5 30.Kb2 Rd8 31.f5 gxf5 32.Re5 f4 33.Rg5 -0.18]
28.d5?? -1.27
[28.Kc3! b6 29.Rde2 Rf1 30.Re1 Rf3 31.Kb4 Rf2 32.R1e2 Rf1 33.Re1 a5 +0.00;
28.Kc3! b6 29.Rde2 Rf1 30.Re1 Rf3 31.Kb4 Rf2 32.R1e2 Rf1 33.Re1 a5 +0.00]
28...Rxc4Here i get two pawns for one passed pawn, if i play logically i am sure to win this position. 29.d6?! -1.75
[29.Kb3!? -1.08]
29...Rf8 30.d7 Rd8 I have stopped the passed pawn but must get rid of it as soon as possible and hopefully he will trade off rooks and i will win with a two pawn advantage. 31.Kb3 b5 32.h4?! -2.63
[32.Rd6!? -1.12]
32...Rc7 33.Rxe4 Rdxd7 34.Rxd7 Rxd7Should be an easy win if i can promote first 35.Re8 Kf7 36.Ra8 h5 37.Rxa6 Rd4 He takes one i get one 38.Ra7I wasn't sure what he was trying to accomplish with this check. Not sure if he thought i was going to blunder my rook or run my King away from my pawns. I thought Rb6 was much stronger. Kf6 39.Rb7 Rxh4 40.Rxb5 -3.25 g5 41.a4 I thought long here, i was thinking that i could take on a4 then swing my king in the back of the pawns and march down the board winning a queen and the game. g4 not being sure if i could pull of the rook sac I just tried to queen first. 42.a5 g3 "it's a race, "it's a race" 43.a6 g2 44.a7 g1=Q 45.a8=Q I queen first and his rook and king are lined up together and the black queen does not protect either one Qb1 46.Kc3 I had to go Qc1 and not take the Rook, if i take the rook on b5 black responses by Qd8+ winning my rook back and possibly the pawn on the next few moves. Qc1
[46...Qxb5 47.Qd8 Kg6 48.Qxh4 Qc5 49.Kb3 Qd5 50.Kb4 I should still win but I must protect the pawn and keep him in check, looks like this may be a draw. ]
47.Kb3 Rh3 The game is over at this point, Ka4 is followed by Ka3# and Kb4 and mate is in two moves. 48.Kb4 Qc3 49.Ka4 Qa3# [0-1]
chess24.com your playground